From Our Collection

THROWBACK THURSDAY By Sharon Cummins The war in Europe didn’t seem like much of a threat to Cape Porpoise when Miss...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, February 13, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins As most of you probably know, historical novelist, Kenneth Roberts, was born at...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, February 6, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins Today, the Town of Kennebunkport is facing a recycling challenge. Unforeseen...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, January 30, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins Patten’s Berry Farm in Kennebunkport is about to be history but the history of farm...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, January 23, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins William Harrison Larkin Jr. was only 10 years old when he and his family started...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, January 16, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY By Sharon Cummins My first residence in Kennebunkport was a beautiful old winter rental at Turbats...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, January 9, 2020

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins The Oldest Commercial Building in KennebunkportLast week’s Throwback Thursday...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, December 19, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins The Oldest House in Town - Captain Thomas Perkins brought his family to Arundel...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, December 12, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins March is shipwreck-hunting season in the Kennebunks. Every few years, a...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, December 5, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY The ‘Early Photographers of the Kennebunks’ slideshow I presented last summer was limited to...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, November 21, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY Picture this! It’s August 20, 1970. Our tall blond, blue-eyed, 54-year-old photographic guide,...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, November 14, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY Tory Chimneys, the 3-story house tucked away between the middle of Elm Street and the middle of Pearl...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, November 7, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY Despite gloomy predictions by new-enterprise naysayers, the Kennebunk and Kennebunkport Railroad...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, October 31, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon CumminsPeople have been fishing out of Cape Porpoise since long before Plymouth was...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, October 24, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon CumminsMaine Street traffic stop tour.Sometimes, while I’m waiting my turn to take a left...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, October 17, 2019

Indigenous Peoples' Day 2019 I hope you will indulge me for making an extra post this week in honor of Indigenous...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Monday, October 14, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon CumminsMy love affair with ‘My Love Affair with the State of Maine.’I’ve been thinking a...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, October 10, 2019

THROWBACK THURSDAY by Sharon Cummins Birthday Parties - There’s been a lot of talk lately about plans for the...

Posted by Kennebunkport Historical Society on Thursday, October 3, 2019